Tags

, , , , ,

Auntie Ann-Mei was a dancer in a ‘former life’, or at least that is what she told me when I asked. I never asked Auntie what she meant by a ‘former life’, but my mother said that she had changed so much, that it feels like she is a different person from what she is today. Auntie Ann-Mei told me lots of stories of the brilliant shows she was in, with her beautiful satin dresses, and the colourful plumage’s of feathers that often perched on the top of her head. There was a gleam in her eye when she talked about the ‘old days’, a gleam that seemed both shiny and shadowed at the same time. Once, when I was about 15 or 16, Auntie Ann-Mei told me of the men that she would meet after her shows, they would wait at her dressing-room door with flowers, some with extravagant bouquets, others with petrol station bunches, all appreciated by my Auntie.